Nowadays much of Leederville's unique character is derived from it's history. For thousands of years it was a camping and meeting space for the Noongar people, transformed into a food producing settlement then into the cosmopolitan township it is famous for today. It's working class origins of the local community are still evident physically with many of the original cottages and landmark buildings remaining exactly as they were constructed over 100 years ago. That history, mixed with the influence of the cafes, retailers and restaurants established during the 1990's has left it with a unique, vibrant, youthful atmosphere and an authentic character. It's history firmly imbedded in its physical landscape and in the values of the community who call it home.



Leederville originally formed part of the Boorloo - tribal land belonging to the local Noongar people. Lake Monger, or Galup as it was known, was used by the Noongar people as a camp site and meeting place. The area was settled by William Leeder and John Monger i 1829 as part of the initial Perth settlement colony. By 1838, Leeder had established the Leeder Hotel and by 1868 the area was mostly dominated by food production consisting of market gardens, dairy farming and poultry farms, helping cater for the 10,000 or so convicts in the Perth colony.

In May 1875 the area officially became it's own municipally called 'Leederville' with it's first Mayor, James Stewart Bennet. By 1897 the town had its own town hall, primary school, police station, post office and the beginnings of a tram network. By 1911, Leederville also had its own oval, Leederville Oval, and many other recreation and utility facilities including the 'Perth Water Supply', constructed on the corner of Loftus and Newcastle streets, now the Water Corporation. In 1948 a technical trade school was built as a training centre by the army and later became TAFE, now Central.



After a long history of community events and festivals put on by various community groups and governments, the first 'Leederville Carnival' was established in 2012 by local resident and trader group, Leederville Connect. Leederville Connect, along with The City of Vincent sought to create a community event that showcased all the wonderful aspects that made up Leederville and it's lifestyle. Enlisting the help of local events and entertainment company 'The Funk Factory' under the directorship of Ken Allen and Jimmy 'Lips' Murphy, and funded by the local community and the City of Vincent, the first 'Light Up Leederville Carnival' was delivered in 2012 along Oxford and Newcastle streets with over 24,000 people in attendance over the course of the day. In 2013 the carnival grew with almost 50,000 people in attendance before growing once again to over 80,000 in 2014 and 2015.